



## **PRESS RELEASE**

## Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme

## The European Commission has approved the modification of the Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme.

The European Commission approved the modification of the Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme, on October 18<sup>th</sup>, 2019.

Following the launching of all available funds and projects selection within the 3<sup>rd</sup> Open Call, the Management Authority proposed a second modification of the Cooperation Programme, for reallocation of funds.

The request for amendment aimed at increasing the financing opportunities within a specific domain, in order to efficiently respond to the stakeholders' needs, optimizing thus the Cooperation Programme and contributing to the Union strategy for smart, sustainable and inclusive growth.

As a result of funds reallocation between the Priority Axes, the support of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) has been modified as follows:

- ✓ The allocation on Priority Axis 3 "Improve employment and promote cross-border labour mobility (Cooperating on employment)" reached to EUR 30,673,795.00;
- ✓ The allocation on Priority Axis 4 "Improving health-care services (Cooperating on health-care and prevention)" increased to EUR 72,347,288.00

Consequently, a series of another ten projects are going to be contracted in the next period.

The Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme aims at financing joint Romanian - Hungarian projects, which address needs that lie on both sides of the border, and that require a common approach and innovative solutions, aiming at facilitating the integrated, sustainable development of the eligible area. The Programme comes as a continuation of cross-border cooperation programmes implemented previously in the region and disposes of a total budget of approx. 232 million EUR, out of which 189 million EUR represent non-refundable support from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The eligible programme area comprises the counties of Arad, Bihor, Satu Mare and Timiş, on the Romanian side of the border and the counties of Békés, Csongrád, Hajdú-Bihar and Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg on the Hungarian side.