





November 19th 2020

The European Commission has approved the modification of the Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme

The European Commission approved the modification of the Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme, on November 16th, 2020.

The Management Authority of the Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary has initiated and obtained the approval of the third revision of the Cooperation Programme. Thus, the fourth version of the Programme allows for increasing the ERDF co-financing rate to 100%, for expenditures declared in payment applications during the accounting year starting July 1st 2020 and ending June 30th 2021.

This modification – justified in the epidemiological context of the outbreak of the pandemic generated by Sars-COV-19, and allowed by the EU specific measures to provide exceptional flexibility for the use of the European Structural and Investments Funds in response to the current crisis – aims at increasing flexibility in the Programme's implementation, and also at reducing the financial constraints in this difficult context.

The Cooperation Programme's modification also consists of updating the target values set for 2023 for defining some output, results and financial indicators.

Finally, the modification includes the official change of the name of the Hungarian region NUTS-3 "Csongrád", which was changed in "Csongrád-Csanád".

The Interreg V-A Romania-Hungary Programme aims at financing joint Romanian - Hungarian projects, which address needs that lie on both sides of the border, and that require a common approach and innovative solutions, aiming at facilitating the integrated, sustainable development of the eligible area. The Programme comes as a continuation of cross-border cooperation programmes implemented previously in the region and disposes of a total budget of approx. 232 million EUR, out of which 189 million EUR represent non-refundable support from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The eligible programme area comprises the counties of Arad, Bihor, Satu Mare and Timiş, on the Romanian side of the border and the counties of Békés, Csongrád-Csanád, Hajdú-Bihar and Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg on the Hungarian side.